What is DMADV?

Posted on November 3, 2009 by


Six Sigma’s typical problem-solving approach of DMAIC stands for Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, and Control which are the steps to improve an existing process. Six Sigma can also be used in the development of a new process or product. In this case, the DMADV phases are often used which stands for Define, Measure, Analyze, Design, and Verify. Here is an explanation of these five phases.

Define – what are the goals here?

Measure – what do customers want? What do the organization’s leaders want? What are our capabilities?

Analyze – what are options for our new design?

Design – what are the details for the design of our chosen solution?

Verify – does our new solution meet our needs?


Tagged: ,
Posted in: Six Sigma