Process Group and Knowledge Area Descriptions

Posted on September 17, 2009 by


The PMBOK® describes 42 processes, with each process belonging to one of the nine knowledge areas (Integration, Scope, Time, Cost, Quality, Human Resource, Communications, Risk or Procurement) and one of the five process groups (Initiating, Planning, Executing, Monitoring & Controlling, and Closing). Here is a description of each of these knowledge areas and process groups.

The Nine Knowledge Areas:

  1. Integration (6 processes) – Coordinating processes and activities
  2. Scope (5 processes) – Ensuring that the project includes all the work required, and only that work required
  3. Time (6 processes) –Ensuring timely completion of project
  4. Cost (3 processes) – Estimating, budgeting, and controlling costs
  5. Quality (3 processes) – Determining quality policies, objectives, and responsibilities and then implementing a quality management system
  6. Human Resource (4 processes) – Organizing, managing, and leading the project team
  7. Communications (5 processes) – Communicating in a timely and appropriate manner
  8. Risk (6 processes) – Increasing the probability and impact of positive risks while decreasing the probability and impact of negative risks
  9. Procurement (4 processes) – Purchasing and acquiring goods, services, and results

And now for the 5 Process Groups!

  1. Initiating (2 processes) – Gaining authorization and defining a new project or phase
  2. Planning (20 processes) – Defining the scope, adding detail to the objectives, and planning what needs to be done to meet objectives
  3. Executing (8 processes) – Actually doing the project work
  4. Monitoring & Controlling (10 processes) – Tracking, reviewing, and regulating the project
  5. Closing – (2 processes) Finalizing all activities